fresh sides

a side of music, politics, and culture

The Joy of Theremin July 2, 2007

Filed under: digression,music,video — damonjay @ 8:46 pm

I have been putting off investigating the theremin, despite all the attention they have been getting, I can’t get the Star Trek theme out of my head whenever I hear one.

I was struck when I watched this, I’m not sure I would know if it was a theremin and not a singer if I wasn’t seeing, at least for a minute or so. If you miss the creepiness, just focus on the stare.

Rachmaninoff’s Vocalise

Other Theremin goodness:
Clara Rockmore, “The Swan” (Saint-Saëns), & “Air” (Mattheson)
Lydia Kavina, “Claire de Lune” (Debussy)
Other YouTube, Legend of Zelda

 

Leave a Reply

